



30 May 2011

INDIGENOUS LEADER RECOGNISED WITH PRESTIGIOUS AWARD

More than 600 guests shared in the celebration as Adjunct Professor Dennis Eggington was crowned the Indigenous Leadership Award recipient at the 2011 Western Australian Citizen of the Year Awards, announced at a glittering gala ceremony at Burswood Entertainment Complex.

The Indigenous Leadership Award, sponsored by Wesfarmers, recognises the significant professional and personal achievements and contribution of an outstanding Indigenous leader who serves as an inspirational role model for Indigenous people and the broader Western Australian community.

Professor Eggington, a member of the Noongar community from the south-west region of Western Australia, has worked tirelessly for more than four decades to ensure there is a strong voice for Indigenous people within the Western Australian justice system.

He advocates that people and cases are dealt with in a culturally sensitive manner and that cultural protocols are followed.

Celebrate WA Chairman John Poynton AM CitWA said the Awards night was a truly memorable event and a great opportunity to recognise a group of inspiring people making massive contributions to our great State.

"Professor Eggington is widely known and highly respected for his extensive work within the justice system," said Mr Poynton. "His commitment to social justice and advancing the rights of Indigenous people is inspiring and makes him a very worthy recipient of this year's Indigenous Leadership Award."

Starting his career as a school teacher, Professor Eggington has been a lecturer at Curtin University's Centre for Aboriginal Studies, Chair of the State Aboriginal Education Consultative Group and the Assistant Regional Manager of Aboriginal Hostels Limited. He can also be credited with creating the Western Australian Aboriginal Media Association.

Since 1996 he has been the Chief Executive Officer of the Aboriginal Legal Service of Western Australia and, in that role, he sits on a number of committees including the National Aboriginal Justice Council and the nation's Aboriginal Legal Services.

This isn't the first time he has been recognised for his extraordinary contribution, having been awarded a John Curtin Medal in 2007 and being named the National NAIDOC Person of the Year in 2010. Last year he was invited to participate in the United Nations Permanent Forum on the Rights of Indigenous People in New York, and most recently was named as one of *The West Australian's* 100 Most Influential People in 2011.

Professor Eggington joined an impressive list of exceptional and inspiring individuals and one exemplary community organisation in receiving Awards on the night. Other recipients included:

- Alan Dodge AM Arts, Culture and Entertainment Award
- Professor Stephen Zubrick Children and Young People Lifetime Achievement Award
- George Jones Community Service Award
- Manna Inc Gold Swan Award
- Brendan Hammond Governor's Award for Regional Development
- John Langoulant AO Industry and Commerce Award
- Professor Ralph Martins Professions Award
- Professor Samina Yasmeen Sir Ronald Wilson Leadership Award
- John Longley AM Sport Award
- Rick Newnham Youth Award
- Curtis Taylor Youth Arts Award
- Brittany Moxham Burswood Youth Scholarship
- Curtis Taylor Wesfarmers Indigenous Youth Scholarship
- Kerry Stokes AC Sir Charles Court Inspiring Leadership Award

Mr Poynton said he was impressed by the calibre of not only the recipients but also the finalists, in this year's Awards.

"We received an influx of impressive nominations for this year's Awards which is a reflection of the superiority of Western Australian individuals and organisations," said Mr Poynton.

Celebrate WA is a leadership organisation that identifies, shares and applauds the endeavours of inspiring Western Australians, whether they were born here or choose to live here. Celebrate WA has acknowledged outstanding Western Australians for 39 years and the Western Australian Citizen of the Year Awards is its premier event.

For more information about Celebrate WA and the Western Australian Citizen of the Year Awards, phone 9481 8066 or visit www.celebratewa.com.au.

ENDS

For media enquiries, please contact:

Kate Bourne
Mills Wilson Communication Consultants

Mobile: 0412 303 992 Phone: 9228 1999

Alana Monaghan

Mills Wilson Communication Consultants

Mobile: 0409 270 530 Phone: 9228 1999